And All That J-Jazz

"I don't want to put a name on my music. Other people can put a name on what I do. It's just the union of what I've been listening to and what I've been learning. It has some elements of classical music, it has some rock, it has some jazz, but I don't want to give it a name."

Hiromi (Uehara) emotes all over the February cover of Jazz Times. You can check out a bit of the fantastic article on their site. If you don’t like clicking or reading, all you need to really know is that she is a nasty jazz piano prodigy who gets absolutely stupid on the 88 keys. Shout to Muramatsu!

And if you’re into solo piano:

She is also wild on the keyboard:

She’s got five group albums out now, some with her group Sonicbloom and a few duets with Chick Corea (who will be in Iowa City soon). Her latest album, Place to Be, was released last month and is her first solo effort, of which she has this to say:

“I think for every pianist it’s one of the biggest challenges to to be with the piano, just the two of us, to face it and understand how I really play, to listen to myself fully, with nothing else.”

そうだな。。。

Leave a Reply

